Are the NSE exams and courses going to change?

Modified on Mon, 8 Apr at 9:49 AM

No immediate changes will happen to the content of our NSE courses and exams by the time the new certifications are launched (October 1st, 2023). However, incremental updates to courses and exams are ongoing as usual, depending on changes in the industry and to cybersecurity roles.

After October 1, all new versions of our courses and exams are going to be progressively renamed to match the designations in their respective exam badges.

Current Course and Exam Names
New Exam Badge Names
NSE 4 FortiOS (FortiGate Security + FortiGate Infrastructure)FortiGate Administrator
NSE 5 FortiAnalyzer AnalystFortiAnalyzer Analyst
NSE 5 FortiClient EMSFortiClient EMS Administrator
NSE 5 FortiEDR
FortiEDR Administrator
NSE 5 FortiManagerFortiManager Administrator
NSE 5 FortiSIEMFortiSIEM Administrator
NSE 6 FortiAnalyzer AdministratorFortiAnalyzer Administrator
NSE 6 FortiAuthenticatorFortiAuthenticator Administrator
NSE 6 FortiMail
FortiMail Administrator
NSE 6 FortiNACFortiNAC Administrator
NSE 6 FortiSOAR Administrator
FortiSOAR Administrator
NSE 6 FortiSwitchFortiSwitch Administrator
NSE 6 FortiWebFortiWeb Administrator
NSE 6 Secure Wireless LANSecure Wireless LAN Administrator
NSE 6 Cloud Security for AWSCloud Security Administrator for AWS
NSE 6 Cloud Security for AzureCloud Security Administrator for Azure
NSE 7 Advanced AnalyticsAdvanced Analytics Architect
NSE 7 Enterprise FirewallEnterprise Firewall Administrator
NSE 7 LAN Edge
LAN Edge Architect
NSE 7 Network Security Support EngineerNetwork Security Support Engineer
NSE 7 OT SecurityOT Security Architect
NSE 7 Public Cloud SecurityCloud Security Architect
NSE 7 SD-WANSD-WAN Architect
NSE 7 Zero Trust AccessZero Trust Access Architect

Note that NSE 6 FortiVoice, NSE 6 FortiADC, NSE 6 FortiSandbox, NSE 7 FortiSOAR Design and Development, and NSE 7 ATP are not included in the new certification levels.

For more information about NSE program updates, see

For more information about transitioning from the current NSE certifications to the new certifications on October 1, 2023, see NSE Transition Policies.


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article